Registered Private Higher Education Institution HEIs
From 53 HEIs there are 64 Registered Campuses
HEA has 53 Private HEIs Registered.

In accordance with the provision of the Higher Education Act No. 4 of 2013 Higher Education Authority (HEA) is mandated to provide for the registration and regulation of private Higher Education Institutions (HEIs). Consequently, the Higher Education Act Part IV Section 15 (i), thus, outlines that a person cannot operate a private HEI unless the private HEI is registered under this Act. Accordingly, HEA has 53 private HEIs registered in Zambia, which collectively have 64 campuses. These include four (5) HEIs with multiple campuses, namely, DMI-St. Eugene University and Rusangu University with 3 campuses each; Cavendish University and City University of Science and Technology with two (2) campuses each; and, Lusaka Apex Medical University has six (6) campuses.

HEA continues to warn the general public not to enrol at any private institution not registered neither should they enrol in any Learning Programme from both private and public HEIs that have not been accredited as their qualifications will not be recognised.

NOTE: 1.0.  HEA’s list of Registered HEIs is a dynamic list. It should be cited with verification from HEA’s official website, or emailing, or calling +260 211 227 084 / +260 950 470 444.

Get started